Bookmark and Share

Juniper Group 2014 Executive Committee Election

Executive Committee Election Nominations

Nomination Requests Due by June 13th to Nominating Committee


Nominations for Executive Committee of the Juniper Group of the Sierra Club are now open, and will remain open until June 13. If you are interested in serving on the Juniper Group Executive Committee (ExCom), please contact the Nominating Committee in writing at: Elections, Sierra Club Juniper Group, c/o The Environmental Center, 16 NW Kansas, Bend 97701.

Applications should include: Name; Contact Information (minimum - mailing address, email and phone); Sierra Club Membership Number (if available - we can look it up); a short statement of your qualifications; and a short statement of why you want to become a member of the Juniper Group Executive Committee. 

The Nominating Committee will interview the candidates, recommend a slate, and will prepare the ballots for the fall election. Candidates may also run by petition. Nominated Candidates will be requested to submit a Ballot Statement to the Elections Committee for publication on the Juniper Group website. Persons may also become candidates by petition.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the governing body of the Juniper Group and consists of seven members. The term of office is two years. Approximately half the Committee is elected each year: i.e. four one year; three the next year. The 2014 election will fill four seats.

The officers (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer) are not elected at large, but are chosen by the Executive Committee members. Information about the current Executive Committee is available on the current Executive Committee web page.

Electronic Voting

Juniper Group uses electronic voting, which is part of the Sierra Club election guidelines. The process for electronic voting will be announced when the candidate slate is published by the Nominating Committee in September. Any member who wishes to receive a paper ballot must notify the Elections Committee Chair in writing. Voting will occur in October.


Election announcements will be made by electronic newsletter, at meetings, and online at this Juniper Group website. Any member not already receiving the electronic newsletter are encouraged to register by using the link E-Newsletter Signup.